Tips to Cope: Full Time Student, Employee and Mommy

HOW I DID IT

  1. Schedule. I worked the day shift 730-4pm, my husband worked the evening shift 330pm-12am. There was a 30 minute gap. My sister in law(bless her heart) watched our son during that time and took him with her to pick up her children from school. If you don’t have relatives or anyone around, look up a great babysitter to save money or look into daycare. Choose something that works for your family.
  2. Homework. A baby carrier is your new best friend at the early stage. Grab your baby and snuggle them up in the carrier make sure you have enough room to have your hands free. I completed my math homework this way. The baby is happy and you get to get things done.
  3. Breast Feeding/Pumping.  I breastfed any chance I got. Once I started working and going to school again I would pump at work and go home during my lunch break and breastfeed. It was exhausting and I was not pumping enough. It is true, your body knows when and how much to produce. It was like clock work by 1145 I was ready to feed. My son was ready and he would feed for 20 minutes and fall asleep. I tried mothers milk capsules to buildup my supply and non alcoholic beer as well as Guinness and Malta. It all worked. I decided to stop breastfeeding at 5 months. You can also join a breastfeeding group on facebook or a local group in your community.
  4. Let them help! If you are married or have a significant other let them help you. Yes I know, you want it done right the first time… One wise woman gave me the best advise I know. She said. ” Let him help you in his own way, if you nag he wont be helping you at all”. It works like a charm. It was weeks before I changed my sons diaper. My husband has his own way of doing things and I have mine. Same result. During your first days as a new mom you get this surge of energy. If someone asks you if you want them to hold your baby while you get some shut eye, let them! you will regret not letting them help you later on.
  5. Don’t feel guilty. Everyday at work I get a patient who asks me what I am doing there and not with my son. I have missed a lot. I felt like a horrible mother and questioned why I planned so many things at the same time. I had started a gym membership and stopped after 2 months because I rather spend my little extra time with him. I joined a Bible Study group and stopped going because that interferes with his bed time. Life is about compromises. Right now, I want to spend all of my free time with him. He started daycare at 8 months and you can see how great of an impact it has had on him. He learns new things and interacts with different kids all day. He has a very busy day as do I, and when we get home we are inseparable!
Leave a Reply

